Monday, August 27, 2012

Meet Vancouver Author, Karen M. Magill

In the tradition of Demi Moore and Patrick Swayze, author, Karen M. Magill gives us a peek inside of a paranormal love-story in The Bond.  In the book’s intriguing story, Karen confirms for us that every cloud has a silver lining, to quote the popular cliché, a mindset that is personified in this remarkable woman/author.

As fellow members of the Facebook group called Master Koda, Karen and I are recent cyber-friends.  Even so, one of the things I have learned, as well as admire, about her, is that although she lives with a challenging health issue, not a hint of self-absorption is to be found in her writing, or in her living, that I have been able to detect, at least. 
It is my pleasure to withdraw my fingers from my keyboard now and to welcome Karen to the page:     

Tell us…who are you…where do you live…what do you do on a daily basis?

My name is Karen Magill and I am a paranormal author.  I live in the beautiful city of Vancouver, Canada and since I am on disability due to multiple sclerosis, I spend my days doing whatever I want!

What do you like to do when you aren’t writing and/or promoting your book?

I like walking – I put on my headphones, grab my cane and camera and out I go.  I love to walk around the city and take photos of historic places or buildings.  Then I come home and post pictures in my blog, the Vancouver Vagabond – – and write the history of what I have seen.

Give us an overview of your book.  In what genre is it classified?  What is the source of its title? 

The Bond, A Paranormal Love Story is the tale of how two people can have a physical bond in a unique way.  A man in Toronto and a woman in Vancouver are hit by identical cars at the same moment in time.  Both people have an out of body experience and meet each other while their spiritual forms are floating.  They unite and when they part to return to their bodies, each takes a piece of the other with them.  This makes them true soul mates and gives them a powerful bond.

How is your book different than others of this genre?

I think the difference comes from the manner in which the couple meets.  Not only that, I tried to make Laura and Julian real people.  I wanted most of what happens in their lives to be something that most people could relate to.

What inspired you to write it?

Actually, I was just looking for a different way for two people to meet.  I have always believed in the powers of the supernatural and this just seems like such a plausible way for two to meet.

How did it happen that you wanted to become a writer?

I have always written, ever since I learned to put words together.  My grandmother was a published author.  Whenever I was lonely or depressed as a kid, I would escape into an imaginary world.  I started writing more seriously when I was around eighteen but, as is the case with most artistic people, I had to find a good paying job to support myself.

In 2000, I woke to find myself partially paralyzed and nine days later, I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis.  At the time, I worked for the Canadian federal government – a job that had taken me a year and a half to get – and I was determined that I was going to take some time off of work then to go back. Unfortunately, it didn’t happen that way.  I went back after five weeks off but the MS just kept getting worse.  My specialist and I made the decision that I should go on disability.

To be honest, I didn’t originally see this as an advantage.  I was devastated.  I was only 35 at the time, and what was I going to do with the rest of my life?  It took a few months, but I began to see the MS as an advantage.  Once I got the financial situation straightened out with insurance and pensions, I realized that I had been given an excellent opportunity.  I may have MS, but now I could follow my lifelong dream of succeeding as a writer.

I researched other areas of writing such as copywriting and writing for musicians, but novels are where my passion lies.  So writing novels is what I do.

What advice do you have for aspiring, or new, writers?

Don’t give up and don’t try to make anyone else’s career yours.  If you hear all the success stories of others, don’t expect that to be your path.  And don’t get discouraged if success takes longer than some.  Oh, and get a good editor!

Where can people buy your book?

Do you have any works in progress, and if so, give us an overview. 

My next book, Missing Flowers, is going to be published soon by Saga Books.  Missing Flowers takes a character - the psychic - from The Bond and moves her to Vancouver.  The psychic dreams about women being murdered and ends up getting together with a police detective to solve the case.  This book unites historical fact with the paranormal to create an interesting story.

Thank you, Karen for giving my readers an opportunity to get to know you.  I wish you the best of luck with your writing endeavors.

The following are the links to the paperback and eBook versions of Linda Lee Greene’s most recent novel, GUARDIANS AND OTHER ANGELS:


No comments:

Post a Comment